RSS Feed

Chickpeas for Dessert?

Posted on

I started off the day bright and early with some homemade granola (still searching for the PERFECT recipe so I don’t want to post this one!!) topped with 1/4 cup almond milk and half of a nectarine as running fuel.

I then laced up my shoes and knocked out 9 miles!!! I can’t wait to run 10 next week🙂

9 miles...4 to go

After comparing it with my 8 mile run last week, I would have to say that this run went sooo much better thanks to the Body Glide and Nathan’s 10 oz water bottle.  I sipped my water throughout the run, which definitely gave me more energy and I didn’t have any chafing issues…thank goodness!

I was then cutting it really close to making it to work on time, so I had Brian make me a post-workout smoothie, and I am sorry to say that it was just not good.  :(  He put waaaay to much cinnamon in it, so I was actually starving during work, and ended up staying until 2pm instead of 1:30pm.

My work look...which will then transition into my going out look!

Even though I was starving and suffering severe dehydration (ok so maaaybe I’m exaggerating) work was great!  I am loving the atmosphere of the store and my co-workers are amazing.

Brian and his mom stopped by the store and then took me out to a much needed lunch.  I will have to admit that I was a little worried about the 30 minute walk home with little water and a starving tummy.

We were all pretty hungry so we stopped in the food court at one of those chinese chicken places.  I wasn’t really feeling fried rice or super saucy chicken, so I opted for plain steamed rice and steamed veggies (broccoli, carrots, zucchini, and cabbage).  It totally hit the spot!

I then came home to whip up a tasty treat for a BBQ at a good friend of Brian and I’s house.  She is starting med school this week and had her white coat ceremony, so it is a celebratory gathering.

Healthified Brownie Batter Dip (From Chocolate Covered Katie)

When I saw this recipe I immediately got excited…who doesn’t LOVE brownie batter?  Then I saw the chickpeas, but trust me you will never even know they are in there🙂  Chickpeas for dessert is a wonderful discovery.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can drained chickpeas
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup nut butter
  • 2 Tbsp non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • pinch of salt
  • 2/3 cup of sweetener (sugar of some sort)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
Preparation:
Combine all ingredients in food processor until combined and very smooth.  Serve with crackers, graham crackers, vanilla cookies, or fruit!
Now we are off to the party!  Have a great Saturday night🙂

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Storm’s a Brewin’ « Treble in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: The Right Side of the Bed « Treble in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: The Right Side of the Bed « Treble in the Kitchen

  4. I liked your article is an interesting technology
    thanks to google I found you

    Reply

Leave a Comment:

